Comparison Error

Report bugs found in TunerPro. Please be sure to include as much info as possible, including system specs, OS, repro steps and TunerPro version number.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

Post Reply
Relic
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:19 am

Comparison Error

Post by Relic » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:01 am

Not sure if you would call this a bug or a logic failure :D

With the tables I will have x,y,z axes.
Say the y-axes is rpm.
If I modify the y-axes the rpm is now out of sync.
The original and compare rows have different rpm values.

The comparison isn't concerned with the values.. only the column or row id.
So you aren't comparing 2500rpm with 2500rpm... just row 3 with row 3.

This has a knock on effect with the table graph.
You might be viewing the compared table or the oem table....but the axes values don't change to reflect that.
So you always see the original axes data + compared values.
Instead of the compared axes data + compared values

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:54 pm

Relic,

Hybrid bug/feature request.

How are you changing the y-axis RPM values? Are these internally defined or strings?

If these are internally defined, TunerPro doesn't and won't do anything intelligent about trying to line up mismatched axes during comparison. That would require interpolation, which isn't impossible. I can put it on the list, but I can't see this being implemented any time in the near future (just to be realistic with expectation setting).

The graphing issue where the axis values aren't updating would be a different bug, and that one may be simpler to fix. I'll look into that.

-Mark
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

Relic
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:19 am

Post by Relic » Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:03 am

On my EDC16 I have
Number of columns
Number of rows
X axes values
Y axes values
Data

So a 8x4 table might look something like
8 4 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1 2 3 4 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9

When I remap, the column or row values can be changed.
Rather than have equidistant values to define a curve at the start and long straight line and a curve at the end....
Its better to use all the values to define the two curves and interpolate the straight line between just two values.
That gives the curved parts much better definition and control without sacrificing the total definition.

Hence Comparing OEM vs remapped values creates the problem.
OEM axes values are equidistant.
My remapped values are only equidistant to define the curves.
The axes don't correlate 1:1

Hope you can follow what I am trying to say.

Mick

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:10 am

Would you mind emailing me an XDF and two bins to show both the graphing and lack-of-interpolation issue? You can limit the XDF to just the table of interest, if that's a concern.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

Relic
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:19 am

Post by Relic » Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm

you have mail :wink:

Post Reply