data rate??

For those of you brave enough to try the beta releases, please ask your questions and post your issues here! Remember, the more info the better!

Moderators: robertisaar, dex

Locked
User avatar
daveinet
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 2:04 pm
Contact:

data rate??

Post by daveinet » Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:21 pm

I have a question about the nature data coming across the port. Does the ECM just dump all the data at once based on a single command, or is ScannerPro requesting each individual piece of data that comes across? the reason I am asking, is I am curious if there is a way to increase the resolution of some of the data by reducing the number of items scanned. in other words, if I only ask for 3 pieces of data, will I get that info more often?
Dave
http://www.geocities.com/revconprince/index.html
502 Edelbrock/Howell MPFI Thorleys and Magnaflows - in a 13Klbs motorhome!

"There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don't"

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:20 am

GM OBDI ECM that support 8192 baud can use both methods. Most scanners request an entire dump of data. In ScannerPro you can do it either way, but it's a lot of work to rquest the data piecemeal.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

vsii_super6
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:40 pm

Post by vsii_super6 » Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:51 pm

are there any example definitions available for requesting data piecemeal?

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:57 pm

Not at this time.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

Locked