show the value of a cell continuously

Submit feature suggestions for future versions of TunerPro here.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

Post Reply
bernhard
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:15 am

show the value of a cell continuously

Post by bernhard » Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:53 am

pooh, i hope I can explain it with my english....

it's for the ostrich -

is there a way to show changing values in a cell, for example where the pressure value is passed?

written in cell 01h; maybe 00h for vakuum :D and FFh for 2bar pressure?

and the changing value is shown continuously?

with best regards
bernhard

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1826
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:20 am

Hi Bernhard,

I don't understand. :(

When emulating with the Ostrich, the value in a cell will only change if you change it yourself. No cells should change automatically.

-M
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

yoda69
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:06 pm
Location: Australia

Post by yoda69 » Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:26 pm

Think he's looking at a way to datalog by watching the value of a specific cell in RAM and showing it live.

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1826
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:59 am

Ah. That's the way the quarterhprse works. The Ostrich can only access its own memory, and not the ECU's RAM.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

bernhard
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:15 am

Post by bernhard » Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:05 am

yoda has explained it better than me. this was exactly i maent.

I thought, in emulation-mode the ostrich(PC?) is substituting the ecu?

may be, I misunderstood generally, what emulation-mode mean?

thanks for helping, with best regards


btw.: what is
quarterhprse
?

I only find horses under google?

User avatar
Six_Shooter
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 7:32 am

Post by Six_Shooter » Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:36 pm

While emulating the Ostrich takes place of the EEPROM, not the ECU hardware. So the ECU will read values from the EEPROM/Ostrich in order to make calculations while running.

QuarterHorse is a tuning product made and sold by Moates for Ford applcations.

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1826
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:10 pm

To clarify further, the Ostrich replaces the ROM. it does not itself have access to RAM.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

bernhard
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:15 am

Post by bernhard » Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:23 am

thx!
It's a pity. I've hoped, with Ostrich there is also an opportunity to show the ram, where the value of pressure etc. is commited to the ecu.

so like man-in-the-middle :D

ok, this will not work...

one way may be, to write a little program into the ecu, which jumps to a special adress when pressure is on value x, next adress when pressure is on value y and so on.

like the other tables on data-tracing, misused as a gauge?
my intention is, to have a mini-dashboard with the main values like pressure, rpm, airtemperature.

with best regards
Bernhard

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1826
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:25 am

Correct - you'd have to modify the ECU code to send RAM data out on the datalogging or OBD line.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

Post Reply