Why not pictures for bits?

Submit feature suggestions for future versions of TunerPro here.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

Post Reply
JP86SS
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 5:49 pm
Location: Strongsville, Ohio
Contact:

Why not pictures for bits?

Post by JP86SS » Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:47 am

Would it be possible to display a graphic for On/Off of a bit?
We could make some small Check Engine, Oil, water, symbols.
Maybe invert color for status :)
Just a thought.

Jp
Image

robertisaar
Author of Defs
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Camden, MI

Post by robertisaar » Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:04 pm

i've more or less done this by having the text background and text color change when the bit flips.

EDIT: I am the dumb, "graphic" didn't register.

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:08 pm

I like the idea. Thanks.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

Acki
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:00 pm

Post by Acki » Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:29 am

I have some "flag registers" which I would like to show.
8 bits per flag, would be awesome to realize this somehow.
The flag can be 1000 0000 or 0001 0111 for example - would be very nice when I could use a value binary.
I would think easiest way would to allow to define a value as binary which I can then put into the bitmask.

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:43 am

Why not define a scalar for exactly this purpose?
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

Acki
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:00 pm

Post by Acki » Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:23 am

I have a Ram_Cell, let's call it RAM_28.
RAM_28.0 - RAM_28.7 are my flags.
set RAM_28.0 means 0000 0001b = 1d
set RAM_28.7 means 1000 0000b = 128d
Both would lead to 1000 0001b = 129d
1000 0010b = 130d
1000 0011b = 131d

The evaluation of this dec number is not easy possible - or I didn't find the right "tool" in the Definition area. Lockup table would be the last option but wouldn't be a nice option...

I only could use a bit output and not a byte output but this would increase the datastream length.

Acki
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:00 pm

Post by Acki » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:09 am

Mangus wrote:Why not define a scalar for exactly this purpose?
I understand it now.
Using a scalar and then playing with the alarm function...

/edit:
Ok... Bitmask XOR 1 result 0/1 is what I was looking for...

Post Reply