Immediate crash when loading XDF

Report bugs found in TunerPro. Please be sure to include as much info as possible, including system specs, OS, repro steps and TunerPro version number.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

Post Reply
x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Immediate crash when loading XDF

Post by x99percent » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:04 am

- Windows 10 Pro, version 1703, build 15063.608 (newer PC, not much loaded on it)
- TunerPro, build 5.00.9107.00

TunerPro crashes when I load this XDF, but the same XDF works on a Windows 7 computer. Not sure where I should be looking to fix the problem.

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/dmacp ... /98G0B.xdf

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:03 am

Are you using the latest build? I can load it without issue. What language/locale is your PC set to?
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Post by x99percent » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:21 am

All version/build info is in the original post.

English/USA

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:22 am

Can you please email me a bin? Does it crash if you don't have a bin loaded?

Aside from that, you're using exactly the same setup I am, and I cannot repro.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Post by x99percent » Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:55 am

No .bin file is necessary to make it crash.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling TunerPro. It also crashes with this XDF:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/dmacp ... Units).xdf

(copy/paste the link... BBCode doesn't like the parentheses in the link)

x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Post by x99percent » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:10 am

Is there any way to generate a log file of the crash?

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:14 am

x99percent wrote:Is there any way to generate a log file of the crash?
Not unless you have Visual Studio installed, and can attach and generate a crash dump.

Are your settings the same between the two machines (win7/win10)?

I can load both XDFs, here.

What happens if you load it on the Win7 machine, save it out in TunerPro, then open the result in Win10? It looks like these definitions may have been generated by a tool(?).
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Post by x99percent » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:37 am

Mangus wrote:Are your settings the same between the two machines (win7/win10)?
Haven't made any setting changes.

Last attempt:
- uninstall TunerPro
- delete "Documents\TunerPro Files" and "Program Files (x86)\TunerPro" directories
- reinstall TunerPro
- run it, load XDF
- crash
Mangus wrote:What happens if you load it on the Win7 machine, save it out in TunerPro, then open the result in Win10? It looks like these definitions may have been generated by a tool(?).
I am using identical XDFs between computers (directories are synced).
Tried saving both XDFs as new files from the Win7 TunerPro, and they still crash on Win10.

x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Post by x99percent » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:43 am

TunerPro build 5.00.8853.00 does not crash..!

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:00 pm

I've made no changes to XDFs in between. The major change was moving to a new compiler, and ultimately a new C runtime.

Maybe try running windows update to make sure your PC has the llatest runtime installed?

I'm grasping at straws; I have no explanation for why it would work on mine and not yours.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

x99percent
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 am

Post by x99percent » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:55 am

Somewhere between Windows updating to build 15063.632 and upgrading TunerPro from 5.00.8853.00 to 5.00.9107.00, it started working... no more crashes!

bradsm87
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:06 am

Post by bradsm87 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:16 am

I have the exact same issue on two computers with fresh installs (and fully updated) Windows 10 Fall Creator's update (the most recent Win 10 version).

The weird thing is another computer with same Windows build doesn't do it!

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:19 pm

None of my machines repro it with files sent from other reporting parties. I suspect it has to do with different versions of the CRT being installed on different machines. I'm still trying to figure out how to fix this.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

bradsm87
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:06 am

Post by bradsm87 » Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:48 pm

Mangus wrote:None of my machines repro it with files sent from other reporting parties. I suspect it has to do with different versions of the CRT being installed on different machines. I'm still trying to figure out how to fix this.
I've also tried latest Windows Insider preview build but same thing. It happens with many different XDFs for me.

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:51 pm

Please help me out by installing this: https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/VC_redist.x86.exe

Then run windows update, take any missing updates, reboot, and try to repro.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

bradsm87
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:06 am

Post by bradsm87 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:06 am

Mangus wrote:Please help me out by installing this: https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/VC_redist.x86.exe

Then run windows update, take any missing updates, reboot, and try to repro.
Done but no luck. Still crashes when loading an XDF.

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:47 am

Thanks for trying. I don't know how to tackle this at the moment. Hopefully I can find a local machine that reproduces this.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

bradsm87
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:06 am

Post by bradsm87 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:31 pm

Mangus wrote:Thanks for trying. I don't know how to tackle this at the moment. Hopefully I can find a local machine that reproduces this.
I'm an IT tech and have heaps of spare computers at work. If you like, I can find one that reproduces the problem and you could have a look remotely if you like? I can just leave it on for a couple of days if you don't want to do it all in one chunk.

2/3 of the computers I regularly use do it so I have to remote in to the one that works every time I need to use TunerPro so I look forward to it working on all.

blackdef
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:04 am

Post by blackdef » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:10 am

Hi to all, i'm in the same situation, win 10 and tuner pro won't works together.... how i load XDF tuner crash... anyone have a idea??

blackdef
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:04 am

Post by blackdef » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:58 pm

an australian guys tell me to trie to remove the Tuner Pro folder un My Documents and now it's working!

blackdef
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:04 am

Post by blackdef » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:26 pm

del msvcp100.dll into MyDocuments\Tuner Pro Files\Plugins and it return to work

pauldaytona
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:27 am

Post by pauldaytona » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:18 am

I can confirm solution in last post. Situation: fresh installed w10 laptop, with no office or anything. Jst w10 and drivers with all updates.
I think it misses a runtime or dll to have the msvcp100.dll working

User avatar
Mangus
TunerPro Author
Posts: 1825
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 1:49 pm

Post by Mangus » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:44 am

I've removed these DLLs from the installer for future versions, so this should no longer be an issue with the next release.

Thanks.
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am

User avatar
fostytou
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:38 am
Contact:

Post by fostytou » Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:48 am

I want to reply that this is still an issue for me. I had 2 Windows 10 X64 laptops with fresh, first time TunerPro 5.00.9159.00 and had an unexplained crash (didn't matter running as admin, disabling Windows defender, etc) as soon as I tried to load known working XDF files.

After removing msvcp100.dll from C:\[user]\My Documents\Tuner Pro Files\Plugins\ corrected the issue on both laptops. It also worked to just rename msvcp100.dll to msvcp100.dll.original here.

Thanks!

Post Reply