FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

 
EECV in a Mazdaspeed Protege

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> Ford
 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 6:18 pm    Post subject: EECV in a Mazdaspeed Protege Reply with quote

Hello,

I'd like to be able to use the Moates equipment (quarterhorse, F3, J3, etc) to tune the ECU. Moates is telling me that it has been tried, but that it was unsuccessful in the past. I haven't heard why it has been unsuccessful or how much effort was actually put into it. I don't give up easily, and this seems like it should work. The car has an EECV ECU with the J3 port so from a hardware standpoint tuning shouldn't be a problem. Assuming that this can work, what are the steps to getting this equipment up and running on a totally new platform? Thanks in advance!

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would be surprised if the Moates gear doesn't work with your Mazda eec-v ecu. Maybe the problem is obtaining a definition suitable for the strategy the ecu uses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply! I figured it wouldn't be a hardware issue. My guess is that the definition is the problem. My understanding is that I can go through the hex and do this myself. I realize its much easier said than done, but am I missing something? Also, is the quarterhorse a good tool for this or should I be going for the burn2, FE, and FA?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to do real time tuning you'll need the Quarterhorse otherwise if you are content with just burning chips for the tune changes then the Burn2 combo is fine.

To develop a definition you'll need to disassemble the code to try to figure out what's what. I doubt you'll make meaningful headway just using a hex editor as you have no reference to compare it to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As it turns out the J3 port is basically disabled by Mazda so the Moates equipment won't work anyway. This is getting harder and harder...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How is it disabled? Some eec-v ecu's needed a couple of solder pads joining together to use the J3 connector.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I don't know what has been disabled and while I keep being told that it "won't work" nobody seems to be able to give a reason why. The other issue is that even if J3 port can be made to work I'm still stuck without a definition or strategy. I don't mind plowing through hex and making a go at it, but I need some clear and informed answers from someone in the know.

The 96 & 97 4 cylinder probes used the same engine, but a very different ignition system. It could be a starting point, but would be far from an easy comparison.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the usual way: http://web.archive.org/web/20070324035705/http://www.motorsportworld.co.uk/powerchips/images/eeclinks.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My ECU doesn't have pads seen in the image. I haven't been inside other EECVs but I took a few pics of mine. Here's a link since I can't upload the pics here.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.916311435068965.1073741836.737195842980526&type=3[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems odd to have a J3 connector and it not be functioning. That said, they've also etched a lot of the chips to hide their markings Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dex, thanks for your time! I've spent the last week trying to decide what my options are and I think I've pretty much run this to the end of the line. I don't have time to learn the process and then go through the process of creating a usable definition especially with nothing to compare to. Unless you have any advice or know someone that has the time and would like to make some money I think I'm going to have to move on. There are at least a dozen guys that would put money in at a moments notice to get this done and then MANY more would jump on board as soon as a few were successful. The Mazdaspeed tune is terrible and the car needs this badly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even with a definition unless the J3 issue can be figured out you may have difficulty re-flashing the ecu if the protocol if different to the Ford one and there's no tuning s/w that supports it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
thepope540



Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know the dealer flashes through the OBDII port with a j2534 pass through which is pretty easy to get. So it can be done, Mazda has just gone to great length to keep it from happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
dex
The Ford Guy


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 522

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whilst a J2534 pass through cable is easy to obtain you need the software too. Also, the dealership software might use a proprietary file format for reflashing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> Ford All times are GMT - 9 Hours
 
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
RedSquare theme 1.0.3 © DoubleJ(Jan Jaap)